Tag Archives: ревю

“Back down along the spiral that heads up” – my review of Jack McDevitt’s “Coming Home” at Europa SF


Jack McDevitt is one of my favorite modern hard science fiction authors. For two reasons.

First, he is truly a science fiction writer who in the vein of Wells, Clarke and Asimov tries to offer an accurate representation of the scientific research process.

Second, his novels never fail to convey the sense of wonder that the grander Universe imposes – sometimes quite forcefully – upon the human beings.

The rest of the review is available at:

http://scifiportal.eu/back-down-along-the-spiral-that-heads-up-review-of-jack-mcdevitts-coming-home-by-valentin-ivanov/

Advertisements

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review, book reviews, литература, научна фантастика, Literature, science fiction

Извън Културата: „Инверсии“ (Inversions) от Иън Банкс – ревю от Валентин Д. Иванов


… За единадесетте години преди да се появи „Инверсии“ (1998 г.), Банкс написва пет романа и пуска един сборник с разкази и новели за света на Културата. За съжаление вече не можем да го попитаме, но може да предположим, че и той – като сценаристите на Старт Трек – са изпитали нужда от свеж поглед към своята любима пангалактическата свръх-цивилизация. В едно свое интервю Банкс казва, че се е опитал да напише „роман за Културата, който не е роман за Културата“. И според мен е успял…

Цялото ревю може да прочетете на страницата на електронното списание „Трубадурите“: https://trubadurs.com/2018/05/10/izvan-kulturata-inversii-inversions-ot-ian-banks/

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review, book reviews, литература, научна фантастика, Literature, ревюта на книги, science fiction